X-Men: Apocalypse Trailer

Watched in: Tinseltown Theaters

Production Companies: 20th Century Fox, Marvel Entertainment, Bad Hat Harry Productions, TSG Entertainment

Director: Bryan Singer

Genre: Fantasy/Sci-Fi

I wrote about this one in my diary since it was closer than my computer, so copied from it:

*Also, I refer to Apocalypse as god-esque mutant because I didn’t know his name until I just looked up the trailer, so bear with me. I watch the movies, but I’ve never read the X-Men comics. ❤

So, X-Men: Apocalypse. We saw it. 

I was still distracted, but let’s get into it.

A criticism from one of the critics mentioned in the Hollywood Reporter article was that this latest installment had no storyline. 

While it did meander, I felt the point it was trying to deliver stood as its story. However, I think it might have bit off a lot to handle.

What is obvious about X-Men is that it is a commentary on the population’s fear and distrust of the Other or the different- specifically the mutant in the case of X-Men. However, quoting my science-fiction professor, that is something that sci-fi easily gets away with- inserting messages under the guise that it is just a story.  It is clear that X-Men is commentary when Mystique says that nothing is better and that, “They still hate us. They’re just more polite about it.” This mirrors my own personal feelings in many ways on many days (read: basically every day) about race relations. That was one of my favorite scenes. And the way Mystique disguises herself (read: assimilates) to be seen with dignity and the pain of having to do that is evidenced with Jennifer Lawrence’s performance. A critique of her in Apocalypse was that she was one-note. I would add to the conversation that maybe she was, but that it was appropriate. Her aloof nature the entire film conveyed her pain and frustration with the state of affairs within the the world. It fit very well in that context. This point was also further driven home by the news clip at the end that said the recent event with the god-esque mutant and his recruited would set back relationships with the mutants which had been improving. Again, relatable as the few stand for the whole with oppressed groups. So, for all of that, I applaud X-Men.

Where I think it was chewing too much was with the other mutants. 

The god one (if the names were mentioned, my bad, I missed them), while killing people, was sincere in the goal that he wanted. And while that doesn’t excuse the destruction, the system that produced someone willing to take those actions to be seen with some dignity needs to be examined. Maybe it was slightly touched upon, but I felt as if the god-esque one was portrayed more so as an outlier and off the rails than as a product of an injustice, which Mystique’s hiding in a different skin definitely was portrayed as.  

-: Dialogue. Sometimes things didn’t need to be said. For example, when the fast one (sorry) was talking about how he was late to one thing and then another and sad smiled, he didn’t need to say, “for a guy so fast…[something something about being late]”. The audience figured out before he said it that it was a sad irony.

+: Storm’s casting.

-: Longer than it needed to be.

+: Magneto’s scenes.

I did like Days of Future Past better (which converted me back to being an X-Men fan), but this wasn’t a throwaway film either. 

Rotten Tomatoes gave it 47%.

-APP

Leave a Reply

